Put your money where your mouth is!

IMC 2015 Graduate Riani DeWet shares a great example of how a media interview can tear at the seams of ill-prepared comments.

rianidewet

One of the basic tenets of public relations is that anything you say must be able to stand up to challenge and scrutiny. In this instance, I must declare my bias. I am not a fan of Monsanto, and I am not a fan of herbicides and pesticides. Where possible, I buy organic produce. So I was laughing by myself when I came across this:

This is not very good PR for agricultural company Monsanto.

In an interview with French cable channel Canal+, GMO advocate Dr. Patrick Moore claimed that the chemical in the company’s Roundup herbicide is safe for humans to consume and that  “you could drink a quart of it and it won’t hurt you.”

Of course, the intrepid interviewing journalist then promptly challenged him to drink some, which Dr. Moore refused. (Apparently he is not completely stupid, or an idiot – or so he says!)  Dr. Moore was insisting that glyphosate…

View original post 16 more words

Leave a Reply

